C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Changing Brake Pads

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2007, 07:35 AM
dan1495
Burning Brakes

Received 265 Likes on 186 Posts
2016 C3 of Year Finalist

Default Changing Brake Pads

I've been a shadetree mechanic since the 60's, but I have to admit I find the C6 intimidating. I bought some Hawk ceramic brake pads to replace the stock Z51 pads. I tried to remove one of the front calipers by removing the two 15MM bolts backed up with an 18MM nut, thinking I could then remove the caliper. It didn't seem to want to come off, so I just put it all back together. What am I missing here? I didn't want to risk screwing anything up.

Thanks
Old 01-12-2007, 07:51 AM
LowFlight
Team Owner

Received 50 Likes on 47 Posts
St. Jude Donor '03, '17
Cruise-In V Veteran

If you can get the bolts off..it is easy as changing a light bulb. Mine came off easy, but I could not tell you how to safely remove them. Many will post here with how. But I can tell you that after the bolts, it is easy.
Old 01-12-2007, 09:54 AM
haljensen
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 21 Likes on 21 Posts

The secret is to hold the 18mm nut and back out the bolt. There's a lot of resistance from the thread lock on the bolt but it does eventually free up.

I had to search all over town for an 18mm open end, for some reason the 18mm is not in most sets and very few places sell an individual 18mm open end. FYI, a small adjustable wrench will work.
Old 01-12-2007, 09:55 AM
jimmie jam
Le Mans Master

Received 577 Likes on 351 Posts

Old 01-12-2007, 10:23 AM
dan1495
Burning Brakes

2016 C3 of Year Finalist

So far we are on the same page, but it did not seem like the caliper wanted to come off. How much force does it take to remove it? I am used to them coming off fairly easily once the bolts are removed.

Thanks for the help.