C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Idea for StealthRam Custom Plenum and better air flow dist.

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2006, 02:37 AM
bowtie350_428
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Idea for StealthRam Custom Plenum and better air flow dist.

In the never ending quest to find a way to fit the Holley Stealth Ram under our stock C4 Hoods, here is yet another idea.

Now honestly, I am not a mechanical engineer, so I don’t know whether or not this theory will work in the real world. And by all means, if this idea is just totally "FUBAR", don't be afraid to say so. I just wanted to share what I have been thinking of and open a discussion with people who have more experience on intake design. I hope I am not opening a can of worms with this one but here it goes...

I have been knocking around an idea of having an HSR with the throttle body mounted on the side intake similar to the FORD intakes on the 5.0. (uhh, i said the F word...) That way a custom plenum could be made shorter from the top to fit under the hood and the lost of plenum volume could be recovered by extending the length on the side of the plenum that goes toward the throttle body. Another benefit to this design is that by having the throttle body mounted on the side and in the middle of the plenum it should help give a more even air distribution to all cylinders. Shouldn’t it?

Here is a top view of what I had in mind...

Last edited by bowtie350_428; 01-25-2006 at 10:19 AM.
Old 01-25-2006, 09:37 AM
KENS80V
Melting Slicks

Received 126 Likes on 103 Posts

Arizona Speed and Marine has a setup very similar to what you are describing. It is the first thing you see when you go to their website.

Ken
Old 01-25-2006, 10:05 AM
bowtie350_428
Pro

Originally Posted by KENS80V
Arizona Speed and Marine has a setup very similar to what you are describing. It is the first thing you see when you go to their website.

Ken