Notices
C5 General General C5 Corvette and C5 Z06 Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

[Z06] How many have had valve springs break?

Old 10-09-2005, 03:24 AM
skeet
Melting Slicks

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default How many have had valve springs break?

I am new to Z06 ownership ( car is still on the transport from Ohio) and worried about what I hear about valve springs breaking. How many actually had this happen? Is it connected to any Vin number run or build date? Thanks
Old 10-09-2005, 08:59 AM
zo6vetteman2003
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by skeet
I am new to Z06 ownership ( car is still on the transport from Ohio) and worried about what I hear about valve springs breaking. How many actually had this happen? Is it connected to any Vin number run or build date? Thanks
There is nothing wrong with the ZO6 stock valvesprings as long as you know the do's and don'ts. The issues are and have been if you leave the car for a long time parked with compressed valvesprings this may cause a valvespring to break, so run the engine to operating temperature and drive it as much as possible if stored. Raising your rev. limiter well beyond the springs ability at 6600rpm where spring frequency starts to deteriorate (harmonics) and valvefloat ensues. The other issues are Cams. If you swap your cam for a cam with higher lift, replace the valvesprings with springs rated for the amount of new lift. The stock valvesprings are a beehive design rated at 271lb./in. The springs are good quality, but can only handle up to .570" of lift max.
Old 10-09-2005, 06:43 PM
Wolf Dog
Instructor