C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My A6 Review

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2005, 03:35 PM
bmanahan
Racer

Received 90 Likes on 39 Posts

Default My A6 Review

Keep in mind this for my wife's C6 A6 which we have had for a week now. I am a true stick lover (C5 M6). The car is under the 500 mile break in so I have not been able to do much of what I would like. I am by no means a expert driver, but I do like to drive hard.

Shifting speed - When the transmission decides to shift it is very quick, much quicker than I can shift. However, when you hit the paddle it to shift it does take time before it decides to shift. My guess is somewhere between .5 and 2 second before it decides to shift. Once it decides to shift it only take a few hundred milliseconds to go from one geat to the next.

Torque Converter - since there is still a torque converter there is isolation between the engine RPM and the speed of the car. Personal preference I like the feel of control I get when they are locked in step.

Up Shift and Down Shift - Up shifts are great and very smooth. Downshifts can be very jerky if downshifting into a corner at high RPMs. With a stick I can slowly release the cluth to reduce the jerkyness, but with the A6 it can only happen quickly which is not very smooth.

Paddle location - as long as you don't want to shift in the middle of a turn the location is great. The only times I have wanted to shift on a turn has been from a complete stop making a left hand turn from 1st gear. Since it is not broken in yet I don't know if this will impact me on twisty roads. I usually shift before a turn so I don't think it will be a big impact for me.

Stopping - I usually downshift in my M6 when stopping or at least put it in neutral. So normally stopping with an auto tends to use more brakes for me. Since the downshift are not that smooth I tend not to downshift in th A6 for normal stoplight stops.