CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C5 General (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c5-general-103/)
-   -   I need advice and to vent.... (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c5-general/3196863-i-need-advice-and-to-vent.html)

sherry_obrien 01-10-2013 12:01 PM

I need advice and to vent....

Hi Guys:
First, let me say I am a woman who owns a 2002. I am also a nurse so I don't make a lot of money. My car now is starting to cost me alot of money in repairs every 6 months or so. It's in the Chevy shop again today and is costing me another 1200. Oil pan leak this time. Always something lately. Sigh. But I love her.....

I love my vette. Love driving it everyday, but my husband died last year and I have one income now. Repairs are becoming very hard on me. Wish I could repair it myself but can't. Do you think I should try to just keep repairing it every 6 months or so or get a newer one? Don't want big payment but ???????? Or should I just suck it up and keep doing repairs??????

Thoughts??????? Thanks guys

FLZapped 01-10-2013 12:04 PM

I had a car that reached an age where it needed something every couple months for a while. Then it was fine again until the day I finally got rid of it.

dadaroo 01-10-2013 12:24 PM

If you are going to the Chevrolet dealership your costs are going to be very high. I recommend you find a local Corvette car club. I am sure some of them would help you find and fix issues for free (or for a beer or two). I am sure they could also hook you up with a good mechanic that would charge a lot less for parts and labor. Good luck.

MrGary2011 01-10-2013 12:26 PM

Originally Posted by sherry_obrien (Post 1582785644)
Hi Guys: