CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C6 Corvette General Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c6-corvette-general-discussion-74/)
-   -   Corvette "the old mans car" (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c6-corvette-general-discussion/3186630-corvette-the-old-mans-car.html)

Boba Fett 12-22-2012 02:51 AM

Corvette "the old mans car"

-Where'd this come from?
-How long has it been this way?
-How often do you hear this? (if you do)
-Do you agree?

Like many here, I graduated to a vette after owning trans ams, Camaros/mustangs and actually owning my first (formula) at 16. Ive been a vette fan since then as well as my other little car buddies. Never once did we even think of the vette as an old mans car, but rather the ultimate. Got my 1st vette @ 32. I get compliments on my vette all the time, including from young guys/gals. Whats your take on this old man car stuff?

Torchsport 12-22-2012 03:24 AM

It's been a topic of discussion often here.
Mainly, it's a car most can't buy until later in life, as it's not a practical family vehicle.

I waited until I saved enough cash. Took me until I was 46.

Z06LUST 12-22-2012 03:30 AM

Originally Posted by bobafett (Post 1582631001)
-Where'd this come from?
-How long has it been this way?
-How often do you hear this? (if you do)
-Do you agree?

With all respect- are you serious?
Try since about 1962....
Vettes have been top of the market in terms of price...takes income, takes age....prior to the new internet world of 20 something millionaires..very few (except for a well of daddy) could afford a Vette before 30-40..and if traditionally married...figure kids gone and 50.

The Stereoype really took off in the 70;s...middle age doctors, dentists and lawyers-gold chains and all.