CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C5 General (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c5-general-103/)
-   -   [Z06] Radar detector in Germany? (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c5-general/1424003-radar-detector-in-germany.html)

Hercdriver 06-20-2006 06:26 PM

Radar detector in Germany?

Hey all, I have a question. Do you all think it is worth having a radar detector overseas? If I do take it with me, do I have to get anything upgraded? I have a Valentine One. Thanks in advance!:cheers:

LT4 Rocker 06-21-2006 03:51 AM

Radar Detector

Radar detectors not nearly as big here as in the USA. I've been pushing the limits here for 10 years and never felt the need. First, The speed limits and traffic are high enough that you stay under the limit most of the time. Second, nearly all speed control is done with cameras and their locations are both published on the internet and predictable. Third, There are many opportunites to test your personal limits on parts of the Autobahn that still have no speed limit. This gets the need for speed out of my system regularly.

Final note, the German Police regularly patrol the Autobahn in unmarked cars and will get you without the use of radar. If they get you significantly above the posted speed, be prepared for huge fines and be ready to walk for several months.

www.mollygunner.com

Hercdriver 06-21-2006 08:41 AM

Thank you so much for the info! Do you suggest that I sell or trade my V1 for something on the forum? Does anyone in Germany that you know of have High Flow Cats? Are they allowed there? Thanks again!:cheers:

Ranger 06-21-2006 08:54 AM

Might want to shoot an email to Valentine for their insights on the target environment in Europe. They sell internationally and have a loyal following there too.

Ranger

chiefDave 06-21-2006 10:03 AM

Originally Posted by LT4 Rocker