Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Should I or shouldn't I ?

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2024, 10:52 AM
kanvasman
Melting Slicks

Received 802 Likes on 550 Posts

Default Should I or shouldn't I ?

I am a pretty good mechanic and have totally built all of my restomod C3. I am just about to get started on body work and part of my ego wants to finish the project up by painting it myself. I have painted before, a long time ago. I had a trucking company and painted all of my tractors and trailers back in the day using acrylic enamel products, along with a number of cars. ( as I said, a long time ago.) They looked pretty good and the paint held up. But we are in a different century now. The last time I painted was when HVLP guns were becoming popular but I never used one. I understand there is a learning curve here both in equipment and materials, and I am quite willing to learn something new, even though this will probably be the last car I paint. But as I said, I have done everything myself on this car except rebuilding the transmission, so I really want to finish it , No pun intended. My thoughts are using one of those portable paint booths for in the garage so I don't ruin everything in it. I also know that the prep is the hard part, and I am willing to do that. With it in my garage, I can take my time and do it right. BTW I am retired so my time is FREE
I know there are a lot of details to be worked out, and it is not going to be a SHOW CAR finish, but is it reasonable for me to expect this to work out? I have an idea of the cost of materials and equipment, although not the exact best things for me, but I am willing to learn all this new stuff. Or is this one of those situations where I am better off paying the man? thanks.
Old 04-21-2024, 11:06 AM
67:72
1967 Pedal Car Champion
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,014 Likes on 1,361 Posts