Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

69' frame-off repainting

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2014, 11:19 PM
Dream Bikes
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 69' frame-off repainting

Hi everybody, my name's Mauro and I write you from Italy where I'm restoring a 1969 Coupè. It's a frame off restoration so now I've got body and chassis separated.
Actual color is Le Mans Blue which's also original one and I'd like to repaint the car with this color.
I'm not a pro but I like to do the job myself where is possible but i think that I need the help of a paint shop to complete the paint job because I don't own a paint oven and my hand isn't so expert to do a paint job.
I'm a little scared about paint shops here in italy because they aren't so expert with fiberglass cars, so I'm looking for indications and tricks about how to do it correctly and which products to use helping in this way paint shop job.

The first step I suppose is to get an idea about actual paint situation and how many layers are on the body.

I started removing first paint layer with the razor blade method and now I've found a gray primer as you cans see in these pictures :

The next step should be to go until bare fiberglass in a small area careful using an 80 grid sandpaper right?

After that I will takes some pictures and show you to get your opinion..

Razor blade method will works only for first paint layer or for all other layers until the last one before bare fiberglass?

I've read about use lacquer thinner and red scotch brite to remove paint layers but I didn't understood if is correct only for last layer (the first over fiberglass) or not...

Thank you so much for your help, I will really appreciate it
And sorry for my bad written english, I hope you can understand me anyway

Last edited by Dream Bikes; 06-24-2014 at 11:28 PM.
Old 06-25-2014, 05:42 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

Mauro,

TRUST ME...your English is not bad at all.