Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Chipped rear bumper on my 80. Bumper is molded in.

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2014, 08:17 AM
540 vette
Race Director

Received 298 Likes on 212 Posts

Default Chipped rear bumper on my 80. Bumper is molded in.

My newly painted 80 vette got a nice chip in the rear bumper yesterday while I was working on it. The car is black, basecoat/clear. I just finished the paint and buffing it out about 2 months ago. I have been painting for 35 years so I know my way around a spray gun. I really don't want to have to clear the whole back of the car because of the molded in bumper. I plan on blending the clear in after I basecoat the chip.
Now I have blended clear before and it came out pretty good. You can't tell it is done unless you know the spot.
I was thinking of blending the black and then spraying the rear portion of the bumper. Mask out the edge of the bumper and roll the tape over to get a soft line. Then mask off the rest of the car. I would do the soft line at the top and the sides and then on the line where the bumper is split right below the taillights. I have done this on jambs but never on a spot that is exposed.

Any thoughts on this or any better ideas.
Old 04-24-2014, 09:53 AM
persuader
Drifting

Received 88 Likes on 51 Posts

Sounds like you already may have the repair pretty well covered. Blending color is one thing , Blending clear is another and very difficult to hide and keep from reappearing. But a picture of the damage would be a good idea if your looking for other opinions on repair options.

Last edited by persuader; 04-24-2014 at 09:59 AM.
Old 04-24-2014, 05:55 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

I hate to throw a wrench in the "works".

Stopping the clear at the top of the bumper...I can agree with that because you can hide the clear edge in the body line...as for the sides of the bumper....I would always see it.