Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

What grit paper just prior to primer

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2013, 10:35 PM
Wade Mahaffey
Instructor

Received 9 Likes on 4 Posts

Default What grit paper just prior to primer

I am preparing a 58 body for paint. The body is down to raw glass. What grit paper should I finish with just prior to epoxy primer or spray polyester? And which of these two is best?...pros and cons

Thanks, Wade
Old 01-04-2013, 09:21 PM
zwede
Race Director

Received 333 Likes on 255 Posts

Disclaimer: I'm not a pro, I can only share what we did on mine.

The raw panels were scuffed with 80 grit dry before the first coat of primer. The primer was 2K urethane. The primer was blocked with 220 wet, then 320 and finally 400. Additional coats of primer were shot during blocking.

I have no experience with epoxy primer or spray polyester, so can't comment on that. We used PPG K36, which I thought worked really well.
Old 01-05-2013, 12:17 AM
rogman16
Drifting

Received 13 Likes on 9 Posts

Originally Posted by zwede
Disclaimer: I'm not a pro, I can only share what we did on mine.

The raw panels were scuffed with 80 grit dry before the first coat of primer. The primer was 2K urethane. The primer was blocked with 220 wet, then 320 and finally 400. Additional coats of primer were shot during blocking.

I have no experience with epoxy primer or spray polyester, so can't comment on that. We used PPG K36, which I thought worked really well.

Same process and products for me... Sometimes I jumped from 320 straight to 600, but it depended on how well the guide coat sanded out... K36/K201 are great products, expensive, but very easy to work with...

Rogman
Old 01-05-2013, 08:10 AM
porchdog
Drifting

Received 87 Likes on 78 Posts

pm sent
Old 01-05-2013, 08:22 PM
Wade Mahaffey
Instructor

Received 9 Likes on 4 Posts

Thanks fellas

How did an ad get into my post on this thread?

Wade Mahaffey
Old 01-05-2013, 09:30 PM
rogman16
Drifting