How do I paint this?

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2011, 04:53 PM
cbernhardt
Safety Car

Received 836 Likes on 456 Posts
C1 of Year Finalist (track prepared) 2019

Default How do I paint this?

Below are pictures of my primered hood ('59 Corvette). In the red outlined insert you can see that there is not much room between the top of the hood and the bottom of the scoop (approximately 3"). All my spray guns are top feed HVLP and they are just too big to fit. Most of the hard to reach areas will be painted flat black. Any suggestions for a good way to spray paint the areas between the top of the hood and scoop, especially the underside of the scoop and where they come together on the sides? Would one of the small airbrush guns work?
Old 11-24-2011, 05:46 PM
Dave Tracy
Melting Slicks

Received 294 Likes on 183 Posts

I'm a novice but that looks tough! Be careful not to have it too thick and allow enough flash time between coats so the paint won't lift. It looks like the primer is good. Good luck.
Old 11-24-2011, 05:48 PM
CF6873
Melting Slicks

Received 13 Likes on 9 Posts

I would use a mini gun or detail gun. You will have to lay it horizontal and turn the fan as narrow as possible. Then just dust it in there until you have it covered. You will have take precaution that paint does not leak out of the cap vent while on it's side.

Since you are using flat black it will be hard to see if it is not perfect.

Craig
Old 11-24-2011, 10:28 PM
markids77
Melting Slicks

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts