Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Could someone help me with a little body work?

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2008, 10:15 PM
Jeffery73
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
St. Jude Donor '08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13
Default Could someone help me with a little body work?

Well, I am not a body man and could use a little help. When I bought my car 2 years ago, there was a crack in the right front wheel well. Today I decided it was time to attempt a repair. I am trying to do as much of the work as possible on the car but I have never tried anything like this before. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. If someone had step-by-step pictures of a similar repair, that would be awesome.
Thanks
This is what I am dealing with. This was a picture taken when I picked the car up two years ago.

This is today after sanding. Looks like it was repaired once before. I assume my first step will be to get all of the pink filler off. Where do I go from there? Thanks

Old 12-11-2008, 03:08 AM
Droshki
Pro

Not at all trying to be a wise-***, but if you are unfamiliar with fiberglass work, the best thing might be to leave this to a professional. Looking at your photos, its not going to be an easy task. You will have to remove all that dead area where the spider cracks still are, and maybe even more than that. This will leave you a relatively large, relatively complex hole to fill, for a first go at learning fiberglass work.
Old 12-11-2008, 11:01 AM
Easy Mike
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,470 Likes on 1,249 Posts
Cruise-In II Veteran

Your damage is repairable. Have you worked with laying up fiberglass? Do you have a warm place to make these repairs?

Old 12-11-2008, 01:25 PM
Jeffery73
Burning Brakes