Other Cars Non-Corvette Content, Daily Drivers, Winter Beaters, Work Trucks, Tow Vehicles, for sale

Any love for Grand Nationals around here?

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2014, 12:39 AM
El_Phantasmo
Racer

Received 100 Likes on 76 Posts

Default Any love for Grand Nationals around here?

When I was in high school, I told myself one day I'd have a GN for my toy, and a 4Runner for my daily driver.

I graduated in '91, it took till I was about 24, but I finally made it happen.

Before I sold it, it was a mid 11 sec car.

Big freakin' turbo, big wastegate and downpipe, chip, injectors, fuel pump, and a WHOLE lotta boost!

It was a fun car, but dang was it finicky. Very sensitive to weather changes. And sometimes, it would just be in a bad mood!

Anybody have any GN stories?
Old 03-29-2014, 03:48 AM
LTC Z06
Get Some!

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 60 Likes on 42 Posts

Yeah sure.
Old 03-30-2014, 03:26 PM
Closer_2001
Melting Slicks

Received 34 Likes on 30 Posts

Originally Posted by El_Phantasmo
And sometimes, it would just be in a bad mood!
Sooooo True.

Had two '87s, first one was totaled when the ROTC teacher made a left turn basically right into me at 45 MPH. That was the summer after graduating in '95. The second I took from rural FL out to Dallas.

Here's a few good GN stories...seems to mostly involve law enforcement.

GN #1:

Rural FL has 2 lanes that stretch miles and miles and are dead flat. Often there is NOTHING out there. It's also common to have intersecting roads which are equally empty, flat and could be dead straight for miles and miles.

One Spring Sunday afternoon, I'm headed home from work and decide to open her up. The Alpine changer is loaded with Sublime, the ADS amp is pushing the JL Subs nicely and the Boston separates and 6x9s are a welcome change over the old paper crap from Delco.
The Speedo was pegged at 85...