Other Cars Non-Corvette Content, Daily Drivers, Winter Beaters, Work Trucks, Tow Vehicles, for sale

i need a diesel! tell me about the duramax..

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2009, 04:15 PM
1 BAD BURB
Le Mans Master

Received 30 Likes on 23 Posts
St. Jude Donor '06

Default i need a diesel! tell me about the duramax..

I am looking into buying a used diesel truck in the next couple months and have started my research. i am very new to the diesel stuff, so please help me out here...

My needs:
towing car hauler (30' enclosed) and bike trailer (24' enclosed)
good gas mileage (towing and not towing)
crew cab or ext cab
short box
auto
will only install programmer or chip, otherwise will remain stock.

based on the needs above, what truck would you guys suggest? i am partial to the d-max b/c i love the chevy look and interior. What model yr should i look at? Any yr i should stay away from? Typical issues? My budget is about 15K so with that, i know the miles are going to be over 100K. i am fine with that, i just want the drivetrain and motor to be stout. the body and other crap i don't care too much about.

What about the Ford 7.3L turbo? good things i hear, but ugly as sin...

Dodge, never a fan of the interior but the exterior is ok. the cummins i hear is fantastic as well. it may be bias b/c i only hear that from Dodge owners.

Im looking to get a general consensus on what you guys think b/c i am sure there are varied models out there.

thanks all!
Aj
Old 07-29-2009, 07:42 PM
IMXCITD
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 307 Likes on 290 Posts

i think you are on the right track w/the duramax and allison tranny. You shouldn't have any problem finding a clean '01-06. Not sure on pricing for a duramax.
Old 07-29-2009, 07:46 PM
Last Place
Le Mans Master

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The Cummins is an awesome engine wrapped in a turd.

Powerstroke engines are mediocre at best.