Northeast Connecticut | Delaware | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Martyrdom | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New York | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | Vermont | West Virginia

Window Tint in New Jersey

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2014, 12:33 PM
C2 to C7
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Window Tint in New Jersey

I'm a resident of New Jersey and am likely ordering
a '15 C7 soon.
I checked several websites for the legal tint allowed here in the state, including the NJDMV site, and it seems no tint is allowed on windshield or
front door glass. Only rear door glass and rear window are allowed.

Can any NJ members to this site confirm this?

Tks,
Jeff
Old 07-19-2014, 01:14 PM
Mfserge
Safety Car

Received 37 Likes on 20 Posts

That is correct.

The actual law in NJ reads as follows:

39:3-74. Windshields must be unobstructed and equipped with cleaners
Every motor vehicle having a windshield shall be equipped with at least one device in good working order for cleaning rain, snow or other moisture from the windshield so as to provide clear vision for the driver, and all such devices shall be so constructed and installed as to be operated or controlled by the driver.

No person shall drive any motor vehicle with any sign, poster, sticker or other non-transparent material upon the front windshield, wings, deflectors, side shields, corner lights adjoining windshield or front side windows of such vehicle other than a certificate or other article required to be so displayed by statute or by regulations of the commissioner.

No person shall drive any vehicle so constructed, equipped or loaded as to unduly interfere with the driver's vision to the front and to the sides."

*source
http://statutes.laws.com/new-jersey/...n-39-3/39-3-74

Windshield and front windows are not allowed to be tinted. Back and rear can be tinted any darkness provided they're not reflected, metallic, or colored.

Furthermore, it appears to be a $54 fine for violating this statute.

*source