Engine Mods Outrageous Builds, High-Horsepower Modifications, strokers, and big cams for the Corvette

96 Vortec 5.7L to 383. What do I need??

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2003, 04:28 AM
Sting Raycin
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 96 Vortec 5.7L to 383. What do I need??

Ok, this is for my 67 Chevy c-10. I am buying a 96 2500HD with the Vortec 350 and 4L80e for a drive-train transplant. I am thinking about stroking the motor to a 383. I would like to use the existing injection, run off of pump gas and keep the emissions control working right. I know I will need to have the computer reprogrammed. What head work will I need to have done? Where can I get a good 383 kit from? What machine work is necessary on this block? Any other items I should be aware of? Will I need a different throttle body? injectors? What kins of a cam should I put in. I have lots of experience with the 96-00 5.7L, but never stroked one before. Any info you guys can give me is greatly appreciated.
Old 09-30-2003, 10:09 AM
CFI-EFI
Race Director

Received 23 Likes on 22 Posts

Default Re: 96 Vortec 5.7L to 383. What do I need?? (Sting Raycin)

I have lots of experience with the 96-00 5.7L, but never stroked one before. Any info you guys can give me is greatly appreciated.
The actual stroking is the same as the engines you are familiar with. You can buy a kit, or you will need a 1 piece rear seal crankshaft, rods and/or pistons, and a damper and flywheel if the crank isn't set up for internal balance. The fact that this is a vortec engine doesn't change the basics.
Check rod bolt to cylinder bottom, oil pan rail, and camshaft clearence. Screw together, and GO!
Head work, cam, TB, injection, and computer mods all depend on where you want to go. Good luck, and...

RACE ON!!!
Old 09-30-2003, 12:44 PM
Sting Raycin
Drifting

Default Re: 96 Vortec 5.7L to 383. What do I need?? (CFI-EFI)

How about this crank?
http://store.summitracing.com/partde...D51%2D05%2D002