Auto Extras & Memorabilia Accessories for your Corvette that aren’t budget-busters. Plus, Corvette memorabilia and die cast models (1:24 and 1:18 scale).

New collector looking for advice.

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2002, 02:52 AM
Silver 96
Le Mans Master

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default New collector looking for advice.

I'm just getting started collecting diecast models. As I mentioned in another thread, my daughter gave me my first model, a 1:18 scale '58 vette, apparently made by Motormax, that she bought at WalMart.

Some time later, when I was at the local Chev dealer, I noticed that they have quite a collection of 1:18 scale models, naturally all GM products, and included a number of corvettes. They didn't have a '96 collector edition like mine, so I bought an '82 collector edition, by AutoArt, for the equivalent of just under $50 US. I was impressed with the amount of detail compared to the Motormax model, so felt the increase in price was justified. Later, I bought a copy of the silver Mitchell Stingray, again by AutoArt, this time for about $40 US, and again was pleased with the detail.

This past weekend, I bought my first two Maisto models at the local supermarket, a Lamborghini Murcielago for $10 US and a Mercedes CLK-GTR for just over $14 US. To my suprise, they both seem to be every bit as detailed as the AutoArt cars. In fact, Both Maisto models have spring loaded suspension, which neither of the AutoArt cars have.

Unfortunately, the only corvettes they have at that supermarket are a 1:24 scale Z06 (for about $3 US) and a 1:18 scale Z06 on a trailer towed by the new chev truck (for $25 US). This store is strictly "what you see is what you get" - no possibility of special orders. In fact, the lady in charge of toys doesn't even know what they are getting until the models arrive.