Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Pad Compounds - HPDE

Old 12-04-2013, 08:11 AM
giantkeeper
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pad Compounds - HPDE

Hi guys,

I am new to vettes and have a 2002 Z06 with significantly more than stock hp/tq. I generally like to do an HPDE event at least 1 weekend a year and feel this will be a great opportunity to learn to drive the Z.

The current setup is coil overs, poly bushings, wilwood Superlite 6r and 13.06" slotted rotors and stock rear calipers and blanks and Nitto NT05's 275/295. My event will be in Phoenix in January so track temps will be 50-70 degrees. The track is fairly short and the sessions will be 4 x 20 minutes for two days. HPDE 2

track

I currently have sets Wilwood BP10 and Hawk HPS for the front and Hawk HP+ for the rear. I know that there are a lot of good and mostly bad reviews and opinions on the Hawk pads for this sort of use. My main question is, will I be OK with a lesser compound on the fronts? Should I match compounds?

Thanks in advance!

Chris

p.s. previous track experience (HPDE only) was a 240hp/250tq 2700lb motor swapped and fully built 89 BMW E30.
Old 12-04-2013, 09:09 AM
CHJ In Virginia
Safety Car

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts

That type of pad combination could be a bias problem especially as you get faster. Almost all run equal sets of pads F & R. Some folks with stock calipers like to run mixed sets such as Carbotek 12 in front and 10 in the rear giving a stronger front bias. At a minimum the stronger compound pad should be in front not the rear.
Old 12-04-2013, 09:16 AM
RedLS1GTO
Race Director

Received 42 Likes on 9 Posts