Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil, Tranny, and Diff coolers

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2013, 07:44 AM
StreetSpeed
Pro

Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts

Default Oil, Tranny, and Diff coolers

Folks,

I'm definitely buying an oil cooler and tranny cooler from DRM this off season. However I don't hear about too many people popping for the diff cooler - any particular reason why? I don't feel the need to spend another $650 if the consensus is that the diff cooler is not needed. FYI this is going on an 04 Z06 track only car. I'm an instructor, do about 20 days a year, will start TTing this year, and hope to progress to W2W next year. I plan on sprint races when I get there and not endurance races. Any advice is appreciated.
Old 11-16-2013, 07:51 AM
taken19
Track Junky

Received 29 Likes on 25 Posts
Tech Contributor

A quick point of reference...

I bought a track only C5Z that had previously been setup up for competition. It had oil and tranny coolers. My very first HPDE the diff fluid overheated, melted the speed sensor, sprayed fluid all over the hot exhaust pipes.... You get the picture. The diff was destroyed (brand new Quaife) and the car wiring harness was replaced from the transmission back. I added the DRM cooler after that!

HPDEs are a bit unique compared with competition in that there is much more driving time in a typical day. Sometimes you can get in 3 hours of seat time in a 8 hour event - not a lot of time to naturally cool fluids that done have a cooler. Therefore, the various oils will heat up and only have a limited time to cool between sessions. Competition differs in that there are several hours or even a day between "sessions".

Does that make sense? Don't make the same mistake I did... Pick up a diff cooler.
Old 11-16-2013, 09:30 AM
argonaut
Burning Brakes

Received 46 Likes on 36 Posts