Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie here

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2012, 08:53 PM
chasboy
Le Mans Master

Received 914 Likes on 721 Posts
Oldtimer

Default Newbie here

Hi all, I'm a newbie to this part of the forum, and did my first autoX at Carlisle list week. I've now been bitten by the bug and want to learn as much as I can. I have a couple if initial questions .
When does one pull the trigger on buying a helmet, and what to buy? I tried to do some research but I can't get any definitive answers. I see reference to motorcycle helmets as being "good enough" , then other recommendations to use automotive specific helmets. I don't know what the standards are as well.
Secondly I understand one must use special brake fluid. Where does one get It and where to have it installed?
Thanks for now!
Old 09-03-2012, 10:07 PM
jcsperson
Team Owner

Received 745 Likes on 429 Posts
NC Events Coordinator

If you intend to do HPDE or racing you'll need a Snell-rated helmet SA-2005 or SA-2010. They're only good for 10 years so a 2005 would expire in 2015. I got the Bell Sport SA 2010.

I'm sure you'll get lots of opinions on brake fluid. I have Motul RBF600 in my car now.
Old 09-04-2012, 08:10 AM
argonaut
Burning Brakes

Received 46 Likes on 36 Posts

Welcome to the fun!

Get a SA rated helmet. You may get away with a motorcycle helmet at AX but very few car clubs would allow one on a track. You can buy online (OG Racing, Racers Warehouse, etc) or find a shop in your area to try on. New Jersey Motorsports Park in Millville has a "pro" shop that carries helmets and most other things you might need (fluid for example). Call ahead to make sure they are open however (they only open when there is some event at the track).