Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need advice on Brakes

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2011, 12:41 AM
C4Scoreand7YearsAgo
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice on Brakes

I'm new to road racing and I'm humbly seeking advice about what I should do with my braking system before I hit the track again. I've done one event and will continue to do more in the future. What should I do to my brake system to make it as reliable as possible while I'm learning how to drive on the track? Its a '92, so its getting up there in age. I have fresh carbotech pads, high temp fluid, and I just ordered some Earl's stainless lines, but what else? I'm trying to spend my money on safety before speed at this point in the game.
Old 03-14-2011, 02:04 AM
Sidney004
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I presume you are running the stock 12" brakes and not the upgraded
13" J55's. If that is the case, I would scour the C4 Parts Forum and be on lookout for the J55 abutement brackets, calipers and rotors and buy a DRM bias spring for your next upgrade. The cost for used parts should be pretty cheap($150-$200.) I would also get some Speedbleeders, but right now just run what you got, should be OK.
Old 03-14-2011, 08:49 AM
CHJ In Virginia
Safety Car

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts

I would recommend that you install a set of coolinng ducts for the front brakes. Bringing in cool air to keep temps down will go a long way towards system reliability and safety.
Old 03-14-2011, 11:42 AM
jaa1992
Le Mans Master

Location: Life is just one big track event. Everything before and after is prep and warm-up and cool-down laps GA
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Cruise-In III Veteran
Cruise-In IV Veteran
St. Jude Donor '12

I race a 92 and am now at the point where my J55's are marginal.