Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Autocross shocks for C4 ?

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2011, 10:14 PM
biggrizzly
Melting Slicks

Received 29 Likes on 23 Posts
2015 C5 of Year Finalist

Default Autocross shocks for C4 ?

I'm in the market for some new shocks for my C4 which will mostly be used for autocross events this summer. I'm also new to autocross with only a few events completed to date.

I am also on a very tight budget, and am on the fence about which way to go for buying shocks (coilovers are out of the equation at this time). I have done the research here and on the SCCA forums and there seems to be a split between the Koni Sport single adjustable and the Bilstien HD autocross shocks.

I am also considering putting a 32mm hollow sway bar on the front with heim jointed end links. The sway bar and end links will cost about $400 and the shocks will add to that. I can get the Konis for about $600 shipped and the Bilstiens for about $325 shipped.

So do you think the Biltiens Sport shocks will do for my first full season of autocross racing or should I spend the other $300 for the Konis and not feed my family for a month?
Old 03-07-2011, 10:37 PM
BrianCunningham
Team Owner

Received 239 Likes on 167 Posts

1st thing to do is figure out what class you want to run in

The simplest mod can have. You running with the heavy hitters

1st year it's best to leave it stock
Old 03-07-2011, 10:39 PM
biggrizzly
Melting Slicks

2015 C5 of Year Finalist

Originally Posted by BrianCunningham
1st thing to do is figure out what class you want to run in

The simplest mod can have. You running with the heavy hitters

1st year it's best to leave it stock
Ha Ha... It will be running in SSM for SCCA and Group 3 for NCCC
Old 03-08-2011, 12:06 AM
RacePro Engineering
Tech Contributor

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Hi Don,