Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C5 oil cooler

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2011, 07:27 PM
JohnAlley
Pro

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts

Default C5 oil cooler

Looking to upgrade the cooling on my c5 Z06 before track season gets here. I am still really new at turning the wrench so my questions is. How hard is it to replace radiator with one that has built in oil cooler and finally hook up the oil cooler?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, also any suggestions on radiator would also be helpful. I am looking at LG Motorsports and Doug Rippie replacement raditors with built in oil cooler
Old 02-20-2011, 08:43 PM
mgarfias
Drifting

Received 30 Likes on 24 Posts

I've got the ron davis unit (thats what DRM sells) with the built in EOC. I installed with the car on the ground, but would be much easier with the car up in the air on jackstands or a lift. IIRC it was a 2-3 hour job, including replacing all the hoses, tstat, etc. That didn't include hooking up the oil cooler, which I did later - that took longer as I built all the lines myself.

If I were to do it again I'd probably just call Randy at DRM and buy the rad + oil cooler from him as he builds all the lines for you.
Old 02-21-2011, 08:40 AM
argonaut
Burning Brakes

Received 46 Likes on 36 Posts

I thought getting the old Rad out and the new one in was pretty straightforward (although I don't have an AC condenser, so that probably made it easier). The worst problem I faced was getting the Oil Adapter onto the block. I have long tube headers there is very little room to work there. I even did it on a lift. In retrospect I should have tried unbolting the header.
Old 02-21-2011, 02:11 PM
Bill Dearborn
Tech Contributor

Received 8,928 Likes on 5,333 Posts