Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I can't fight the urge any more! A few questions...

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2010, 11:21 AM
n8dogg
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 327 Likes on 95 Posts

Default I can't fight the urge any more! A few questions...

Long story short... I have a 2004 Z06. I have been around the track and have had rides with instructors. I also service and maintain several instructor and student Corvettes. So yes I am a beginner, but I have a feeling they will be moving me ahead quickly.

So given that I do have some experience, especially with the C5/C6 Corvettes what would you suggest for brakes and suspension. Keep in mind I will only be doing 2-3 events next year.

Info on my car:
2004 Z06, K&N air induction, Borla Stingers, TB Bypass, 180* stat, self tuned via EFI Live, Nitto 555R2's on stock wheels, lowered with bolts, T1 sway bars, Baer +2 front rotors, Baer +1 rear rotors.

Now, I know the Baer rotors are good for regular driving and car shows, Not the track. So I should replace them... but with what? One of the track Vettes I work on we use Stock rotors with Carbotech pads. We get about 4 track days out of the rotors. I have heard only good things about performance friction rotors. What about them? What is a good pad to use for someone doing 2-3 events and also street drives the car on nice days. I do not want anything over corrosive as I need to keep my car pristine. What about fluid? ATE? Motul?

I feel my suspension is a bit loose yet on bumps and dips. I think the stock shocks should be replaced. I have installed coil overs but can't afford them. I know the Bilsteins are popular but not the best option for track use. I don't need to replace them, I know, but I am considering it.

Thanks for the input!
Old 12-13-2010, 12:12 PM
CHJ In Virginia
Safety Car