Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Pagids?

Old 07-12-2010, 11:04 AM
A-Z
Instructor

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Default Pagids?

I'm new to Corvettes and, at a friend's recommendation, I've been using the Carbotech 10s F&R on my C6Z with StopTechs (ST-60 and ST-40) and Toyo 888s.

I like the braking, but not the rapid wear. When I talked to Carbotech about this, they agreed that they would expect more than 5-6 hours on the fronts. They suggested that perhaps I had not properly bed them in, which would adversely affect their wear, and recommended that I try some of their pre-bedded pads. Well, I've bedded lots of pads before without issues, but they're the experts, so to give them the benefit of the doubt I purchased their pre-bedded pads. Unfortunately, I've not seen any difference in the (rapid) wear rate.

I used Pagids on my prior track cars, all Porsches. These pads worked well for me and are hugely popular with the Porsche track crowd, but I don't see them mentioned much here. The popular pads here seem to be the Carbotechs, Hawks, Cobalts.

So, a couple of questions:

1. Do others have similar wear experience with the Carbotechs?

2. Is there a reason the Pagids are not in wider use on Corvettes, or am I mistaken on this?

Thanks, Andy
Old 07-12-2010, 01:53 PM
Superbee
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have used both the pads and the pre-bedded pads from them and agree the wear is the same for both and faster then I like, especially for the cost.
Never tried the Pagid, how are they for affects on wheels and paint?
Old 07-12-2010, 02:08 PM
mcar00
Burning Brakes

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by A-Z
I'm new to Corvettes and, at a friend's recommendation, I've been using the Carbotech 10s F&R on my C6Z with StopTechs (ST-60 and ST-40) and Toyo 888s.