Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Moton Clubsport help

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2010, 06:28 PM
dayABR11
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Moton Clubsport help

Hi all. I am fairly new to modifying my C6 Z06. I have done a number of HPDEs in the US and now that I'm in Germany, I have done a few at the Hockenheim. So after a while I started getting the itch to modify. Since there was a pretty good deal on a set of Moton Clubsports, I went and sprang for them.

Anyway, right now I just have the shocks - no after market springs yet. The Z06 is for cruising around town on the weekends with 1-2x track sessions each month during the spring and summer. Also, I went and got the Katech aero kit (partly for looks, partly for aero gains). So with that in mind, do I need springs too or are the stock leafs good? What setting should I run the Motons on initially? Would I need to get the Motons revalved?

One thing to consider is that I feel like the stock stiffness is about right in comfort and seems good on the Hockenheim race track - but on the Nurburgring I find that I have shaved off about 1/2" on the right due to the carousel. But since I'll be getting rid of the air dam because of the whole Katech front aero parts, scraping shouldn't be an issue though, right?

Now if everyone here says that I need coil springs - then what are good rates that compromise street and track?

Oh, and there was a thread talking about the pin mounts for the rear with the Motons having an issue when at full droop and needing a different type of mount - can someone explain that? I don't have any special kind of mount bought for the rear, would that be an issue?

Sorry for all the questions. I did a search, but nothing seemed to answer my questions specifically.

Last edited by dayABR11; 03-07-2010 at 06:32 PM.