Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Front Sway Bar Upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2010, 11:05 AM
Dolfan
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Front Sway Bar Upgrade

OK, want to upgrade the front sway bar on my 04 Z06, need to be legal for SCCA SS class.

Can anyone point me to a vendor or a make of bar that they have had good luck with?

Do I need to replace the end links? The stock links have only 9K miles?

Is it worth getting adjustable end links if I'm making no changes to the rear?

Thanks, I'm new to the sway bar thing!
Old 02-22-2010, 11:19 AM
Solofast
Melting Slicks

Received 85 Likes on 71 Posts

Default Why?

The stock front bar on an 04 Z results in a pretty well balanced car.

I tried increasing the stiffness of the front bar with poly bushings and it made it push. If you are going softer and think the car pushes too much now, I can understand it, or if you have some burning desire to have an adjustable front bar, go for it, but don't assume that stiffening the front end is going to make the car faster. I've found that you can get more front end roll stiffness than you need with a set of poly bushings, and a bigger bar would be overkill and make the car push like a pig.

Better to spend your money on shocks...

At least one adjustable end link is required on the fron bar to properly cornerweight the car.

JMHO...
Old 02-22-2010, 11:42 AM
Dolfan
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Solofast, good points.

I've already done the shock upgrade to adjustable Koni's, that helped quite a bit, I especially felt the car behaved better in fast slaloms and transitions, didn't notice too much difference in sweepers and other general turns.