Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Setting up car for road racing - NEWB

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2009, 11:06 PM
0Superman09
Former Vendor

Received 61 Likes on 53 Posts

Default Setting up car for road racing - NEWB

Hello all,
I am a newb to road racing. Have only done drag racing myself. Looking at both roadracing and Auto-X, just from the broad basics of both, the longer roadracing tracks seem to tickle my fancy you could say a bit more vesus the tight tracks of auto-x. I have read the newb threads already and they had some great starting tips. Looking now as to what my car needs and what I need to get started in road racing.
Heres some info...

I'm in Michigan.... what do I have nearby for some good tracks?
Car is a 1999 C5 coupe, performance mods are vararam and corsa. Car has PFADT coilovers for suspension, and thats about it. What might you suggest I look into for setting up the car more? I like the reliability of the stock engine for now while I get used to racing the car. What type of wheels would you suggest and tires. Nothing serious obviously but maybe a mix of some OEM wheels to get it same size front and rear? How wide to go? Good diameter to use? Tire size?

What do I need personally to start racing the car? Do I have to get certified or anything? How do I go about getting started in road racing? I see these videos of advanced drivers on such tracks as Pocono and that type of racing looks to be a complete blast!

Lastly I'd like to thank you for your input and being able to help a newb with basic questions. In the mean time I will keep searching and will wait for some responses. Thanks a lot!

-Jon
Old 08-03-2009, 11:26 PM
0Randy@DRM
Former Vendor

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts