Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

sudden c-5 brake fade autocrossing

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2009, 04:37 PM
rickkym
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default sudden c-5 brake fade autocrossing

I've been auto-xing for a couple years, ran an event mid-may and all was fine. The next week at an event on my first run i get brake fade mid-course (sixty second long course) and by the finish the brake pedal is going to the floor. The car seems fine on the street and pumping the brakes brings the pedal back most of the way. Hitting the brakes hard going down a steep hill the abs seems to act fine.

I ran a full quart of fluid (prestone dot3 synthetic) and bled the system, still pedal fade. Took the pads off one side and the front-rear taper is maybe 1/32nd if that.

There is no fluid leak and there are no codes being thrown and no idiot lights come on. All i can figure is 1)bleed the ABS but i have no tech tool 2)bad master cylinder seals 3)maybe the brake booster or a vaccuum leak there? I do turn off the traction control mid-course on occasion due to being forgetful at the starting line.

please help with any thoughts/ideas. Thanks in advance!!
Old 05-29-2009, 04:50 PM
froggy47
Race Director

Received 194 Likes on 164 Posts

Originally Posted by rickkym
I've been auto-xing for a couple years, ran an event mid-may and all was fine. The next week at an event on my first run i get brake fade mid-course (sixty second long course) and by the finish the brake pedal is going to the floor. The car seems fine on the street and pumping the brakes brings the pedal back most of the way. Hitting the brakes hard going down a steep hill the abs seems to act fine.