Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

suspension help please (autoX)

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2008, 03:32 PM
FloridaFRC
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default suspension help please (autoX)

I have a stock suspension 00 FRC. I have lowered it almost all the way down on the factory bolts although it is hard to tell because it may have only dropped about .5-.75" all the way around. I am just getting into autox and have two events under my belt. My car has 90k miles on it. I am thinking about adding c6z51 sway bars from and rear with metal end links all around as well as poly bushings for the bars. My main concern is my shocks though. I feel like they bottom out now on any decent bump (just on daily driven roads, not the autox coarse). I am wanting to know which shocks are decent for my car lowered on factory bolts. I don't mind a stiff ride. I just don't want to be bottoming out all the time and I don't want to break the bank. What shocks are you using/ recommend for the once a month autox car? I'd like a set of 04 Z06 shocks but i was hoping to find something comparable for cheaper. any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks
Old 12-31-2008, 05:16 PM
Solo2GS
Burning Brakes

St. Jude Donor '07

Keep in mind what class you will be competing in and not bump yourself up too far as to be uncompetative. I know when you are first starting out its all about seat time and learning, but it still helps to plan class accordingly!

SCCA Super Stock will allow you to change out the front sway bar, but not the rear. Next class up is ASP which allows unlimited suspension (no coil overs) modifications to springs and sway bars.

SCCA rule book