Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about HPDE, harnesses, Hardbar for C6

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2008, 11:43 AM
upperdeck
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about HPDE, harnesses, Hardbar for C6

I'm pretty new to the whole autocross road racing thing and have a few questions... I read the sticky thread and it had a lot of good info, but didn't see any answers to a few more questions.

For an HDPE, are harnesses required or are the stock seatbelts ok to use?

I'd like to get a harness system eventually and I'm considering the hardbar. Is it removable once installed? This is my daily driver so it would be nice to be able to remove it.

Do harnesses have an "expiration date?" I've seen a few references to manufacture dates.

When the HDPE requires identical harnesses for passengers, can the style be the same but the make and/or model vary from one to the other? Or must they be absolutley identical harnesses?

Thanks in advance!
Old 11-08-2008, 12:41 PM
Solo2GS
Burning Brakes

St. Jude Donor '07

Welcome to your new obsession!

Each club that host an event likely has its own set of rules, but in general...

Harnesses are not required for HPDE. Some clubs do not like you having them unless you have roll over protection installed. Harnesses help keep your butt in the seat, but don't allow you to submarine like a normal seat belt. That being said I can't stand driving without a harness...

All the harness bars I have seen are bolt on so you could remove it. Most are such a clean install and have no issues with functionality that I would not see a reason to remove it.

Harnesses do have tags on them about date of manufacture. Some organizations don't want them to be too old.