Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dont Flame, I need to understand how you adjust a sway bar?

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2008, 03:16 AM
steve40th
Le Mans Master

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
St. Jude Donor '03 & '05

Default Dont Flame, I need to understand how you adjust a sway bar?

Okay, can someone explain to me the proper way to adjust a sway bar with adjustable links. And how do you make it , via adjusting, to corect understeer, oversteer and to make things nuetral?
I have Fred Puhns book, but, I need a visual or a sailor proof answer as to how to adjust front and rear, particualry toa C4 if possible,.
Thanks, Joe the Sailor
Old 10-25-2008, 04:17 AM
Nimo
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08-'09-'10

I'm not an expert, but always believed that you would set the car neutral with your weight in the drivers seat.
- Except if you are on velodrome type track.
Yes/No ?

/Nik
Old 10-25-2008, 05:42 AM
steve40th
Le Mans Master

St. Jude Donor '03 & '05

Originally Posted by Nimo
I'm not an expert, but always believed that you would set the car neutral with your weight in the drivers seat.
- Except if you are on velodrome type track.
Yes/No ?

/Nik
I want to know how to though. Just disconnect and reconnect it so its level? no stress? etc etc
Old 10-25-2008, 05:56 AM
Nimo
Burning Brakes

St. Jude Donor '08-'09-'10

Originally Posted by steve40th
I want to know how to though. Just disconnect and reconnect it so its level? no stress? etc etc
When the bar is neutral, there should be no binding and the end links should be possible to insert in to the control arm mounting hole without force.
- Normally that is also when they are the same length and you can set them before you mount them. The actual length depends on what the bar looks like and may need to be adjusted to clear draglinks etc.