Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What Camera Do You Use On Track?

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2008, 10:55 PM
NemesisC5
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 331 Likes on 241 Posts

Default What Camera Do You Use On Track?

I know this has been asked many times, but with technology advancing I am sure new alternatives are on the scene. I am new to the roadcourse scene and have been looking for a camera or system to mount on my Hardbar. Tonight at Circuit City I saw several video cameras that use the SD card format with image stabilization for $3??, one particular unit was a Samsung widescreen 1080P HD unit but it was $699. Please respond with what you guys are using and mention also if there is anything you do with remote microphones to enhance the sound experience. Thanks In Advance
Old 09-26-2008, 11:08 PM
wallyman424
Melting Slicks

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I shot this: http://vimeo.com/1751714 with a 199 dollar chinese 1080P HD camcorder. Records to SDHC card.

http://www.amazon.com/DXG-DXG-595V-M...2484865&sr=8-1

It works WAY better than I thought it would.
Old 09-26-2008, 11:15 PM
ptindall
Team Owner

Received 45 Likes on 27 Posts

I use a $179 POS JVC I bought at Wally World. Uses mini cassette tapes. I heard that mini DVs can skip and error due to shock. It works great for the money but the quality is not that good. Even worse after uploading to youtube. I'll be trying out a remote mic for the first time in two days for the bumper mount on my brother's MR2.

Old 09-26-2008, 11:28 PM
NemesisC5
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Originally Posted by wallyman424
I shot this: http://vimeo.com/1751714 with a 199 dollar chinese 1080P HD camcorder. Records to SDHC card.

Very nice deal, I knew something like this would turn up if I posted
Old 09-26-2008, 11:30 PM
NemesisC5
Le Mans Master