Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Weigh Stations??

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2007, 02:38 PM
Datawiz
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 320 Likes on 152 Posts
CI-7-8-9-10 Veteran
Cruise-In IX AutoX Winner
St. Jude Donor '05-'06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11,'19,'22
St. Jude/CI Name Tag Designer

Default Weigh Stations??

I'm leaving tomorrow with a trailer behind my Tundra to trailer home my Z06 from the museum. I'm new to towing, so be nice.

QUESTION: Do I have to stop at the weigh stations? Loaded vs. Unloaded vs. Stop at all???
Old 10-23-2007, 02:40 PM
davidfarmer
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 711 Likes on 492 Posts

in NC, this is what I've been told. If you run a commercial tag on your truck, then you must get a CDL and follow all commercial laws, including weigh stations. If you run a "car" tag, then you don't have to do anything.

If you are running an open trailer behind a normal suv, you shouldn't need to stop. If you are pulling a trailer with fancy graphics all over it, then you might want to go through the stations. Every state is different, and the DMV officers have the power to make life miserable if you get on their bad side.
Old 10-23-2007, 02:42 PM
Datawiz
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

CI-7-8-9-10 Veteran

Originally Posted by davidfarmer
in NC, this is what I've been told. If you run a commercial tag on your truck, then you must get a CDL and follow all commercial laws, including weigh stations. If you run a "car" tag, then you don't have to do anything.

If you are running an open trailer behind a normal suv, you shouldn't need to stop. If you are pulling a trailer with fancy graphics all over it, then you might want to go through the stations. Every state is different, and the DMV officers have the power to make life miserable if you get on their bad side.