Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Considering C6 for HPDE- how should it be set up?

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2007, 10:15 AM
l8_apexer
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Considering C6 for HPDE- how should it be set up?

I've been running Porsches in roadracing for 20 years. Looking to buy a 2008 Z51.
Questions on how to set this up for HPDE's:

-- Need wheels/tires. What sizes (wheels & tires) work best? (r-compound tires only for track use)

-- are stock brakes adequte? (Assume need to upgrade pads)
-- are cooling ducts available to direct cold air on the rotors?
- what are people doing about the seats? Stock seat looks completely unusable for track use (with 6 point harnesses)
-- are the harness bars feasible (and safe)? (My porsches all had roll cages)

Thanks for the help
Old 10-18-2007, 11:16 AM
yakisoba
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I've seen two sorts of setups with that car for HPDE's:
1) Low maintenance -- Stock as much as possible, save perhaps hybrid tires, a tune, and better brake pads/fluid. Drive to and from the track sometimes. Might or might not have a harness. Popular with instructors, it seems.

2) Race car -- Starting at the ground, sticky tires, upgraded brakes, ducts (generally Z06 ducts will fit), wheels, suspension (camber plates, T-1 bars, bushing replacement), underdrive pulley, headers, cam , intake manifold, air intake, harness, seats, coolers for everything, telemetry setup (as much as you can afford).
Old 10-18-2007, 11:37 AM
davidfarmer
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 712 Likes on 493 Posts

If you go through the sticky and current (say, last 2 - 3 weeks) you'll find every answer you could ask. The C6 and C5 track equally well, so pretty much every thread from 97' - up will be of help to you.