Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Are run-flats safer for HPDEs?

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2007, 04:56 PM
errance
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are run-flats safer for HPDEs?

Hello,

I'm a novice driver, doing half-a-dozen HPDEs a day in my daily driver C6 Z51 coupe. And I have to drive the car back-forth to the track.

Should I use my Z51 runflats on the track? I'm wondering because they are so expensive to replace. Should I go with cheaper tires like the Michelin PS2, BFG KDW,... ?

My main concern is safety. Has anyone been saved on the track by runflats? Can they make the difference between a safe track exit and a big crash?

Thanks for any advice.
Old 05-13-2007, 06:05 PM
AU N EGL
Team Owner

Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts

Use what you have. Dont go overboard ( sic ) too soon.

ANy tire you use will be worn down faster on the track then on the street / highway with the same milage. So that does not matter which tire you have.

I did my first 11 HPDes on street tires.
Old 05-13-2007, 06:11 PM
errance
Pro

Oh, I'm not planning on going overboard with track-only tires. I'm just a novice, ok with street tires.

Like you said, driving on the tracks wears the tires fast. I'm just wondering if I want to be wearing down $1600+ GY runflats or $1000ish BFG. And my question is more safety and cost-oriented than performance based.
Old 05-13-2007, 06:22 PM
c4cruiser
Team Owner

Received 476 Likes on 423 Posts
NCM Sinkhole Donor

Half-a-dozen a DAY You mean a year?? Chances are that you will wear the stock tires out after 6 track days depending on the track and how you drive the car.