Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Recommended Brake Pads for first HPDE

Old 04-27-2007, 12:01 PM
geerookie
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Recommended Brake Pads for first HPDE

This is my first time ever at an HPDE. I finally got up the courage to go. I will be at Watkins Glen 5/7 - 5/8. I have a '99 C5 with stock motor & 6spd, 3.73 rear-end, Nitto 555 tires, Pfadt Racing Sway bar, Koni FSD shocks. I am installing new NAPA rotors, DOT4 fluid but I'm not sure what pads I should install. I will be driving the car about 300 miles to and from the track for the HPDE. These pads and rotors are only for the HPDE. I have another set for daily driving. Any suggestions or opinions will be appreciated. I plan on doing about 4 or 5 more HPDE's this year if that makes a difference.
Old 04-27-2007, 12:07 PM
AU N EGL
Team Owner

Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts

For a FIRST DE. OEM C5 Z06 pads. Good pads and also streetable. Beyond that race pads, which I dont recomend for the first few DEs
Old 04-27-2007, 01:16 PM
John Shiels
Team Owner

Location: Buy USA products! Check the label! Employ Americans
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

http://brakepads.wilwood.com/01-selection/index.html

BP-10 I would try.
Old 04-27-2007, 01:25 PM
earthman01
Instructor

Stick with stock pads for now. You have a lot to experience before you will notice any difference from pads. Concentrate on your driving first, equipment (except for safety gear) second.
Old 04-27-2007, 01:49 PM
MNCrystalRed2011
Pro

I agree with both AU N EGL and earthman01. Once you get some seat time and start developing smooth lines and more fluid footwork and shifting, then you can worry about upgrading your brake pads.
Old 04-27-2007, 01:59 PM
Aardwolf
Race Director

Received 368 Likes on 304 Posts