Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rear popping noise in high speed right corners?

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2007, 07:58 AM
tchapma1
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Rear popping noise in high speed right corners?

A little info on the car, 02 Z06, stock suspension, lowered approximately 1/2" from stock, 21K miles, approximately 7 DE events. Running 18x10 fronts with 305/30/18 Hoosiers, and 17x12 rears with 335/35/17 Hoosiers. I get some slight rubbing on the inner fenderwells on the rear of the car with this setup on very high cornering loads (rubbing is more witness marks then a full on rub). I am a fairly aggressive driver with the car, so I'm not just putting around. I've got the noise with and without active handling on.

I was out at a DE this weekend and on high g right hand corners I was getting a kind of loud pop noise coming from what sounded to be the right rear of the car. I checked over the car after the session, everything looks good back there (no loose bolts, obviously bad bushings, or broken parts). The only thing that I couldn't figure out a way to check at the track (without some major disassembly) was a rear wheel bearing.

Anyone have any ideas on where I might want to start looking? Or possible causes? It does not appear to affect the car any, and did not seem to get worse as the weekend went on. Thanks in advance, I'd like to get it resolved before my next event.
Old 04-23-2007, 09:28 AM
davidfarmer
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 712 Likes on 493 Posts

you should have a jack and a torx bit at the track, as those bearings can be tugged on to find out if they are bad or loose, just by jacking the car up. Tug side-to-side for tie rods ends, tug top/bottom for bearing.