Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Opinion DTC-70/Wilwood H

Old 07-12-2006, 12:27 PM
Wicked Weasel
Team Owner

Received 297 Likes on 94 Posts
St. Jude Donor '05-'08

Default Opinion DTC-70/Wilwood H

Just looking to what people think about each brake pad.

I ordered both sets - long story but UPS lost my Wilwood order so I rushed to get DTC-70s Fedex to me just in case the Wilwoods did not make it in time for WGI. Now it looks like I might have a choice of which one to run and which one to either send back or use another day.

I wondering what the characteristics of both brakes are like. This is my first time running a "race" pad and it would be good to know what to expect.

thanks
Old 07-12-2006, 02:07 PM
gonzalezfj
Melting Slicks

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Wicked Weasel

I ordered both sets - long story but UPS lost my Wilwood order so I rushed to get DTC-70s Fedex to me just in case the Wilwoods did not make it in time for WGI. Now it looks like I might have a choice of which one to run and which one to either send back or use another day.

I wondering what the characteristics of both brakes are like. This is my first time running a "race" pad and it would be good to know what to expect.

thanks
Weasel, the DTC-70s are undoubtedly among the best race pads you can get today. Many of the T-1 racers used them exclusively. I have a set on my C5Z for track duty and they are great. Never fade, very consistent coefficient of friction, good initial bite.

Never used the Wilwoods, so I cannot comment.

MAKE SURE you have the high-temp brake fluid of your choice in your system when using high performance pads. You will generate a lot of heat which will boil the standard DOT-3 fluid.

Enjoy...

Frank Gonzalez
Old 07-12-2006, 03:54 PM
wtknght1
Melting Slicks