Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HPDE, AutoX and Street tires

Old 05-23-2006, 04:15 PM
mothersworry
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default HPDE, AutoX and Street tires

I am just getting my 92 C4 back together after a 2 year rebuild. I am going to be doing HPDE, autox and occasional street driving. Is there a tire that would work across these conditions? I am just starting to learn to drive this car and have not found the limit yet, so I am not looking for ever ounce out of a tire. The wheels I have chosen are 275 - 17 fronts and 315 17 rears. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 05-23-2006, 05:31 PM
acrace
Drifting

Received 215 Likes on 153 Posts

mothersworry:

Based on your comments, I would suggest the Kumho Victoracer V700s. Priced right. In the sizes you're looking for. Would need to be shaved to 4/32" for HPDEs. Very good durability.
Old 05-23-2006, 06:55 PM
c4cruiser
Team Owner

Received 475 Likes on 422 Posts
NCM Sinkhole Donor

I would go with the Kumho MX Ultra High Performance street tire. This is a great dry-weather street tire and can easily be used for track days and autocross until you get enough seat time to change and go with race rubber.

I run MX's on my 87 for track days and they have great traction when warmed up (takes a couple laps at moderate speeds) and are very predictable. For autocross use they work great even for slow speed courses.

Because they are a street tire, you would have no problems with legal tread depth and you can drive anywhere on them. I have about 8000 miles on mine with a half-dozen track days and they have yet to reach down to 50% tread life.

They may not be the best for wet roads, but they do work as long as you don't become too agressive.
Old 05-23-2006, 06:58 PM
Lancer033
Le Mans Master