Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

AutoX first time

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2006, 09:30 PM
ckd
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AutoX first time

Cliff notes at bottom

Man, I took the Z to an autoX event for he 1st time ever. It was great! One of the most fun things I have ever done. Got to learn how the car handled and I even made the AH warming up message come on (never pushed it hard enough to get that before). I did notice after going around one of the full circle turns (just one complete circle) it had quite more understeer than I expected. Maybe I didn't step on it enough to kick the rear over or maybe I should have shifted to second but I'm still learning. I never left first gear and the fastest I've gone today was probably 45-47. Never left first gear. My MPG for today was 10.3! Pretty impressive lol. My best run was 42.3 compared with the best being a completely tuned mr-2 at 38.X. Not bad for my first time huh? Oh yeah, my 42.3 was with me thinking I was done thecourse and I hit a cone I could have avoided if I was thought I was still going but that was a 2 second reduction so I should have had a 40.X. The results will be posted in a few days, I'll let you guys know where I ranked. Oh yeah, they told me the base model vette is SS class (showroom stock) but the Z06 is unclassified so I pretty much raced myself all day Any one here hear of something like that before? Sorry for the long post.

Cliff notes - I ran the autoX for the 1st time. I got a 42.3 compared to the best car getting 38.X I also hit a cone on that run resulting in a 2 sec penalty. Noticed more understeer than expected. Never left first gear. Need tips and advice on autoXing. Had a Hell of a time!!
ckd is online now Edit/Delete Message
Old 05-13-2006, 10:11 PM
TedDBere
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts