Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Auto trans in AutoX

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2006, 01:35 PM
Carl Johansson
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Auto trans in AutoX

So I have a freind and his wife with one of those trans ams with the vette engine in it. They want to come autoXing with me next weekend. I have no experience with autotrans in this application - would they just leave it in drive? or would they put it in second? I don't think they ought to try an manually move the lever - I can see em blowing up the tranny doing that.

Also how bad should I beat em this week - in order to keep em coming back so I can spank em again?

Carl "5 speed C-4" Johansson
Old 03-13-2006, 01:48 PM
acrace
Drifting

Received 215 Likes on 153 Posts

What year Trans Am and which Vette engine? I had both an '89 and a '90 Firebird Formula with the 5.7 TPI engine. Put it in second and go. It'll launch in first and automatically upshift. It'll kick down as needed.

If you're talking about a fourth gen F-body with a LT1 or LS1, then I don't have any experience with that.
Old 03-13-2006, 03:25 PM
Carl Johansson
Drifting

Originally Posted by acrace
What year Trans Am and which Vette engine? I had both an '89 and a '90 Firebird Formula with the 5.7 TPI engine. Put it in second and go. It'll launch in first and automatically upshift. It'll kick down as needed.

If you're talking about a fourth gen F-body with a LT1 or LS1, then I don't have any experience with that.
Thanks - it's 4th generation - LT1 I think
Old 03-13-2006, 03:48 PM
vms4evr
Melting Slicks

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I autox'd a 92 C4 coupe with A4 for a couple of years. LT1 and 4L60 trans.

There are just a couple of things they need to watch out for:

Put it in 2nd and leave it there. Disable any traction control stuff.