Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Open Trackers with brand name headers, please chime in.

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2006, 09:19 PM
GreekPT
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Open Trackers with brand name headers, please chime in.

I was talking a vendor who appeared very knowledgeable regarding Vettes and he claimed all "big name" headers are too thin and you can expect them to crack after a year of use at HPDE events. He likened the header to a replaceable part like pads and said he's determined this from personal experience of selling headers and working on customer's cars.

I'm in the market for some LT's and this is discouraging info at best.

But I have no first hand experience with this so I'm hoping to get honest answers.

Thx,
Phil

Last edited by GreekPT; 03-05-2006 at 09:21 PM. Reason: Content change
Old 03-05-2006, 09:34 PM
Cobra4B
Team Owner

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
CI 3-5-6-7-8 Veteran

I've had kooks 1 3/4ths long tubes with cats in since January '04 w/o issue.
Old 03-05-2006, 09:37 PM
FactoryRaceCar
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
St. Jude Donor '05-'06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12

I have LG PROs without any issues. LG actually race their headers.
Old 03-05-2006, 09:49 PM
Bink
Safety Car

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cruise-In V Veteran
St. Jude Donor '09

I had the original type LG Longtubes (built before the Borla "Pro" construction) - the right and left both leaked at the collector after about 18 months of use. Street use only. FWIW.
Old 03-05-2006, 10:00 PM
emf
Burning Brakes

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

LG custom LT's as well, since Dec '02. About 9k street miles and about 13k track miles (and, a whole bunch of offs, to boot!) . . . not a single issue.