Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

Best way to get rid of swirl marks

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2014, 01:53 PM
Red89'-L98
Burning Brakes

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts
FL Events Coordinator
St. Jude Donor'13

Default Best way to get rid of swirl marks

I have a 1989 corvette coupe and since i have had it painted it has started to show swirl marks on it.

I was wondering what is the best and easiest way to remove all or most of them. I am no expert car cleaner but i am smart enough to wash it and not cause them, they just happened due to a cheap paint job.

I don't have any fancy buffers or anything like that, it will all be by hand.

Attached below are some pictures showing the swirl marks. Hopefully you can see them. After washing and waxing the car they are considerably less noticeable but after a week or 2 they are back.

This first picture was the day after being washed as you can see it is dirty after 1 day, but there are no swirl marks to be seen.

In this second image which was taken about 10 days after the cleaning you can see the swirl marks somewhat under all the dirtiness.

Any help that anyone can give is appreciated. I want these swirl marks gone as it makes the car look not as show quality up close.

Thanks, Stephen
Old 04-19-2014, 09:27 PM
CheckeredFlag
Drifting

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts

http://www.auto-geek.net/charts/wax-...art-master.htm

here's a great chart to use as reference

I recently had some pretty good scratches on my daily driver, and use Meguiar's Ultimate compound that got a lot of them out.

Other swirl removers that I have personally used in the past with nice results are: 3M Finesse II / Meguiar's scratch X / Pinnacle Advance finishing polish / Meguiar's Step 2 polish / amd Blackfire Scratch Resistant Clear Finishing Polish