Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

UV protection for Torch Red

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2013, 01:47 PM
Zap City
Melting Slicks

Received 187 Likes on 123 Posts
St. Jude Donor '13

Default UV protection for Torch Red

I just picked up a Torch red Z. I have no experience maintaining a red car. What are you guys using to protect and guard against oxidation on your red cars. Been using Blackfire recently and really like.

Thanks
Old 03-04-2013, 02:42 PM
CheckeredFlag
Drifting

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts

Blackfire is one of the products I use, and it's known for UV protection

I'd say you're right on track

one "problem" with living in Florida is the Sun exposure on your paint job (I lived in Hawaii for 4 years, I could write a book= LOL)

You can also use something like Meguiars Show glaze and slowly work on each section (think of it like dry paint, hungry for a drink- )

Then top it off with your choice of Carnuba

I'll be listening for other responses

in fact: Would anyone recommend using something like Klasse sealant during this process ?
Old 03-04-2013, 03:58 PM
capevettes
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 4,557 Likes on 2,161 Posts
2023 C3 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
2021 C8 of the Year Finalist Unmodified
2020 Corvette of the Year Finalist (performance mods)
2019 C1 of Year Winner (performance mods)
2017 Corvette of the Year Finalist
2016 C2 of Year
2015 C3 of Year Finalist

I use Zaino Clear Sealant followed by Z8 Grand Finale on my Victory Red Z06. It gives it a wet look that also has great durability. I use the Z6 detail spray between full details..
Old 03-04-2013, 04:00 PM
don hall
Safety Car

Received 218 Likes on 172 Posts

Rejex

http://www.rejex.com/
Old 03-04-2013, 05:09 PM
0Adam's Polish
Former Vendor

Received 147 Likes on 124 Posts
St. Jude Donor '15-'16-'17

Post up some pics of your new ride!