Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

New to machine polishing question.

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2011, 12:26 AM
NJLS708
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default New to machine polishing question.

So I'm just learning the in's and out's of polishing with a porter cable. I don't see any problems with flat surfaces. However, I'm not yet confident with polishing around curves on the body panels. What is the correct method for polishing non flat surfaces?
Old 06-03-2011, 07:00 AM
TOGWT
Melting Slicks

Location: Ponte Vedra Beach / London State: Dazed and confused
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

A flexible backing plate and a foam pad with a cut-out design can be of benefit when dealing with surface contours and angles as they tend to conform to these shapes better than a plain flat pad, they also tend to transfer less heat. They also provide an extra level of cushioning while polishing curved surfaces, distributes pressure evenly over the contact area of the pad, they are less aggressive than a more rigid backing plate and will help to reduce swirls

See also "Machine Polishing By Dual Action Polisher", Dave KG – http://www.detailingworld.co.uk/foru...ad.php?t=63859

Old 06-03-2011, 11:17 AM
NJLS708
Burning Brakes

Thanks, every instructional video I have ever watched always shows someone polishing the hood of a car. I wish someone I could find one that shows proper technique on the more difficult body panels. Does anyone know of one that exists?
Old 06-03-2011, 03:54 PM
0Killrwheels@Autogeek
Former Vendor

Received 242 Likes on 206 Posts

The idea is not to stop for long periods of time and use heavy pressure in these areas while buffer is on high speed. Otherwise its often quite similar. You can always tape the edges too if you are worried, but you will do fine and find youve likely worried about nothing.

http://www.autogeek.net/dual-action-polisher.html
Old 06-04-2011, 03:14 PM