Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

What did I do wrong?

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2011, 02:52 PM
Corpsvette
Melting Slicks

Received 177 Likes on 100 Posts

Default What did I do wrong?

So I have been polishing cars since I was a kid in the mid 1980's for spending cash. I am by no means a professional but feel very confident in the work I do. I practice on my truck and careful on the car. I use a Flex dual orbiter and have all the pads with SIP and Zaino Fusion. Today a buddy asked me to help him because he grazed his car pulling into the garage. I told him some of the scratches were into the primer but i could remove the majority. It is a 4 year old metallic blue Ford Mustang. I start with the orange pad and SIP and removed most of the scratches and he is very impressed. I started working on some of the deeper scratches and told him it would require wet sanding or repaint and that I wasn't comfortable with that. He asked me to do what I could. Before I knew it, I had cut through the clear into the paint using SIP, and orange pad and the Flex and did not sit in one spot. I was sick. He still says the car looks 200 percent better than it did, and it does look much better. He even asked me to remove some other scratches from his wife car which I did with no problems. I offered to pay to have it fixed but he really didn't seem bothered but it bugs the crap out of me. The primer is black and you have look very close to see it but the blue on the pad was the proof. I just can't believe it cut through the clear, the paint and into the primer. I even asked if the car had been repainted. He bought it brand new. I wasn't being that aggressive and had only work on it for about 15 minutes. WHAT THE HECK DID I DO WRONG? Is the clear coat that soft and thin on Fords? Please, no Ford knocking, I think they are sharp cars.
Old 01-30-2011, 04:59 PM
Roughrider
Melting Slicks

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts