Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

Quick Zaino Q

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2007, 09:53 AM
Garibaldi
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Quick Zaino Q

First apologies for the bandwidth. I've searched and haven't found a clear answer to this question: After the Dawn, claybar, Z1/Z5, wait overnight, does every other application of Z2 or Z5 have to cure overnight? I still have traditional Zaino Z1,2,5, and 6 and do not use FX. Strangely, I could find no mention of Z1 on Zaino's web site.

Thanks,
GP
Old 05-24-2007, 10:37 AM
bonesbr549
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm not an expert, I just bought the kit and did my car this past week-end. I followed the directions that came with the kit. This may not apply to you if you don't have the zfx. I think that speeds up the curing process. Call them, the guy I spoke to before I bought was extremely helpful and said if I had any questions call.
1) Dawn
2) wash with zaino wash
2) Clay Bar
3) Z6,z5,z2 (z5,z2 with zfx) 3 coats each. I had to wait about 20 minutes between coats (time to drink a beer)
Old 05-24-2007, 12:02 PM
mrosa65
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Z-1 has been discontinued. It has been replaced with ZFX. You can also use Zaino All-In-One as a first step as well.

ZFX is a major time saver. You can apply up to 3 coats of your Z2/Z5 using ZFX back to back in a 24 hour period.

To answer your question. The "text book" answer is that you should wait 24 hours before applying a second coat if not using ZFX. With that being said, people on this forum have posted about not waiting and applying additional coats within the 24 hours. Not sure what that will result in though. I always use ZFX so I never did much research on it.

Last edited by mrosa65; 05-24-2007 at 12:24 PM.
Old 05-24-2007, 01:21 PM
Sleper
Drifting

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts