C7 Z06 Discussion General Z06 Corvette Discussion, LT4 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: GEM Motorsports

Tire issue

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2022, 07:02 PM
last901
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 88 Likes on 77 Posts

Default Tire issue

I'm having to make a decison (possibly) regarding the tires on my 2015 C7 2LT (21,000 miles)

Several months ago I purchased a 2015 2LT coupe from a local dealer. This is not my first Corvette, but it is my first time asking for tire advice.

I have a slow leaking front tire. from what I've been able to discern these are BF Goodrich tires and given the mileage and what looks to me, juding on the tread left, I'm thinking these are not the original tires (but who knows?)

The fundamental question is, since I presume these are run flats is if it's safe to repair the tire in question. I only just discovered the problem but Have a feeling I've been driving on that tire - and the other three for about 800 miles. If it can be repaired, fine, but I'm not entirely convinced that's the right way to go.

If I replace the tire, should I replace the opposite tire on the same "axle"?
If I replace both front tires and change brands (I lean toward Michelins) should I replace all 4 tires? I'm retired, on a fixed income and am looking for the most cost-effective - yet safest solution.

Could use some advice here. Thanks
Old 04-04-2022, 12:14 AM
St.Char
Melting Slicks

Received 299 Likes on 171 Posts